GI Jane Finances

February 27, 2008

I’m baaack!

Filed under: Sowing seeds — gijanefinances @ 12:49 pm

Wow…what a busy 10 days it has been. The dust has now settled and it is back to the grind. I had the big boss’s retirement dinner, his change of command ceremony, Japanese 112 mid-term and a co-worker farewell luncheon to boot! I cannot wait to decompress this weekend with Zumba, mani/pedi and karoke (Japan’s national pastime) on Saturday.

I made a really good investment in purchasing $200 worth of Japanese language material. Also, last I night I refreshed my hair product supply for about $175. Both purchases contribute to my whole-person concept–being well-groomed and learned:

I have this lofty goal of becoming fluent in Japanese. If I score well on my language test, not only will it increase my pay, but also make me more competitive for Lt Col. I anxiously await to see how this last board fared. The results will be released 4 Mar–I know a couple of people who have been passed over. But actually, I am more curious about the statistics…it should be around 70%. My board will not meet until 2010. And I am all about hedging my bets.

The hair products save me $70 a week in salon treatments. My Pibbs hair dryer was the purchase of the year in 2007. I have relaxed hair that requires plenty of TLC and more importantly, moisture/protein. I am so in love with the Salerm’s Balancing Shampoo, Wheat Germ treatment and B5 Leave-in. I lost two hairs from the last treatment–one was from shedding. I usually lose a lot more than that with more broken than shedding hairs. The line is made in Barcelona, Spain. It is definitely a keeper.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

