GI Jane Finances

March 15, 2008

Random notes

Filed under: Etc... — gijanefinances @ 3:33 am

Thank heavens it is Saturday (at least in Japan)! This week, I finished my Japanese 112 class with a 6-page final. We had to give an oral report and write in Hiragana and Katakana. I needed to translate the test in English to even answer the questions.

I signed up to be member of a professional organization. They are having a really awesome conference in San Antonio in May. I used to live there for 3 1/2 years–but it would give me a good chance to visit a dear friend there. I was also impressed with the caliber of the members and where they work. It will be a handy networking tool in the future.

Even though I am excited about living here in Japan, next year there may be an opportunity to move to Europe. More importantly, to Belgium…my dream tour right before the Lt Col board. I was excited about the possibility of moving to Germany, but there is someone I dislike moving into one of the billets. I think (a) if working with her will make me want to poke my eyes out and (b) I would extend here another here. Option “B ” wouldn’t be bad and actually better for my finances. It is expensive moving, even though you get an allowance. Plus, my language training would not have been in vain. We will see…

Tomorrow, I will attempt to cook all of my meals for the week in advance. Today, I will need to research a 5 or 6 day menu. It sounds get in theory, but the commissary here does not have the greatest selection. I couldn’t even find chicken stock for my yummy chicken piccata.

I may be going to Beijing, China for the Olympics this summer. I hate crowds, but this sounds too exciting. It will, of course, derail my well-intentioned student loan reduction plan. But I think it is worth it–I’ve heard great things about China.

One of my property managers has yet to deposit my rent for March. I wish they could be “fired,” but I would need to sell the stupid house first. Still contemplating, even though it is a slow market.

Ja mata,

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

