GI Jane Finances

April 7, 2008

Identity theft is a b!tch…

Filed under: Tomfoolery — gijanefinances @ 10:18 am

This morning I discovered that my paypal account has been compromised. I hardly ever use paypal. Thankfully, they had discovered something was wrong, but it did not prevent $299.00 from being charged on my AMEX. Some hillbilly decided he wanted an ATV battery from Ebay and managed to break into my account on 31 Mar. I had been very busy that week, hence no blog entries, so he was able to fly under the radar for 1 week. hmph.

Actions taken to remedy the fraudulent purchase:

  • Cancelled card and reordered a new one
  • Changed passwords
  • Disputed charge (it should reverse in next billing cycle)
  • Changed username

That is all I can do for the moment. I hope paypal report the thief to law enforcement. It goes to show that you should never use your debit card online. I need to load up the latest and greatest anti-virus software. And you should not save your credit card information online.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

