GI Jane Finances

May 26, 2008

The Working Rich

Filed under: Continuous improvement — gijanefinances @ 11:48 am

Yeah, finally received my stimulus check! I was expecting it to be direct deposit, since I paid the IRS through DD. So, if you did not receive a refund and paid taxes instead, the IRS will mail a check. The money was supposed to be used to pay off my AMEX from the recent Sheila E. concert. Instead, I used my discretionary fund and cash flowed $1000 to the card.

The good news is that my Salliemae balance after 1 Jun will be $6400. I cannot wait to be finished with SM. It really should have been done a long time ago. My recent purchase of Furla handbags, a Gucci wallet and two pairs of shoes do not help matters much. But, I did buy a new book written by Dr. Lois Frankel called Nice Girls Don’t Get Rich–75 Avoidable Mistakes Women Make with Money.

She called, “the working rich,” are people who must work to maintain a certain lifestyle. If the check stops, then they would be in real trouble. I definitely fall in that category, just never heard it called that before. Dr. Frankel also wanted women to max out their 401k plans, like today. The year is half way over and I would need to contribute $1500 in order to be current. I already have enough discretionary income (ref paragraph 1) to have made this happen already. But, I like discretionary income, need a bigger emergency fund, sell my house and be finished with Salliemae before maxing out the TSP.

It will definitely happen in 09.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

