GI Jane Finances

June 20, 2008

Traveling woes

Filed under: Fits and starts — gijanefinances @ 12:33 am

I have no idea how to pack lightly–tons of toiletries, 4 pairs of shoes and Japanese souvenirs for family/friends. I am 100% sure that I will have excess baggage fees. Thankfully, my orders authorize reimbursement. This will be the first time that I will be travelling with a laptop. So, I have one big suitcase (my uniform items took up 50% of the space), small one, laptop briefcase and a mid-size purse. Whew!

I was told last week that the Air Force Personnel Center is missing two decorations for my upcoming 2 year Below the Zone promotion board. I have a snowball chance in blue hell of being pick up. However, my school board will be meeting next week and I was rated as a top pick. The board will look at my records and the missing decorations may be a red flag. If I was allowed to ship all of my goods instead of 2,000 lbs, I would not have to call all over creation looking for it. Plus, the Military Personnel Flight here no longer holds hard copy records as of 2007–when I moved here. Very frustrating.

Nevertheless, a bunch of my friends, co-workers and I will be heading downtown for fine dining at a really cool restaurant. We will be spending the night; and I plan on taking a shuttle to the airport the next day.

Until next time,

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

