GI Jane Finances

October 7, 2008

Plan B

Filed under: Cash crunch — gijanefinances @ 9:45 pm

Hello world,

Let’s start with the good news.  Today I tried pilates for the very first time.  It was really nice.  I was surprised how much you can sweat in stretching your whole body.  I have not stepped on the scale yet, but feel progress in my thighs.  Wahoo!

The bad news.  I decided to suspend my $1088 TSP contribution for several months.  I am not happy with my cash position.  I just knocked down the price on my house another $5000.  That is $5,000 short of the note.  It is time to face reality that I cannot afford money to evaporate, even though the investments are long-term. I need to raise $7,000 more just to unload when a buyer finally manifest him(her)self.  If I didn’t have this house to sell, I woud continue to buy mutual funds “on-sale.”  I am already pretty diversified.  The roth will still continue on course. 

I will just let the money work the twists and turns of the market…and not look at them until next year.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

