GI Jane Finances

October 16, 2008

Uncertain times

Filed under: Fits and starts — gijanefinances @ 10:27 am

Today, the Dow fell 733 points and I am doing my best to not look at the IRA/TSP.  I am still contributing to my Roth.  This economy is really not for the weak of heart.  I feel a little better about getting a cash position.  But, still annoyed that I am in the midst of selling a house during one of the worst markets in history.  If the property manager was not so incompetent, I would be renting it out now.  sigh.

I will never be this leveraged again.  My $2,774 student loans would have been wiped out by now.  Ironically, I thought the house that I purchased in 04 would appreciate enough to clear my student loans.  Now, it could not be any further away from the truth.  The investigator for my clearance raised his eyebrows when I told him about the two houses.  I reassured him that the main incentive for keeping current is because of my clearance/credit score.  Thankfully, my first house has been a blessing.  I even forget at times that I own it. 

Nevertheless, I look forward to owning one house again.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

