GI Jane Finances

November 11, 2008

GI Jane Unleashed

Filed under: Kicking Sallie out of the house — gijanefinances @ 11:35 am

Today is Veteran’s day.  I would like to thank the military men and women who paid the price with their lives in service to our great nation.  Also, my deep appreciation to my fellow servicemembers for your selfless sacrifices, devotion and excellence.  It is a great feeling to serve something bigger than a corporation or rat race.  What I do in the military is not a “job” or something to pay the bills and slave away the day.  It is to serve in something bigger than myself.  I salute my fellow warriors and soon to be President Obama. 

With that said, I am still on track to pay of my Salliemae loan this month.  The closing is two days aways–and everything is squared away.  The next to the last electric bill was $174.90 and water $82.00.  Not sure how much I will pay on the AMEX bill.  I have to also buy gifts for my sister and childhood friend (a different kind of veteran).  I am grateful for having the funds to weather the current financial crisis our country is in.  When I was a Lt, money was a little tight.  However, I haven’t received money from my parents since Dec 1996.  It is a great feeling to be resourceful enough to get myself out of the tight spots that moving around the world can bring.  No one joins the military for the money, but it always have been just enough to survive and sometimes prosper on.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

