GI Jane Finances

December 30, 2008

Happy New Year!

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 9:24 pm

Wow, 2008 is finally coming to an end.  It has been a good year:

  • I unloaded my stupid house in November
  • Finally paid off my student loans
  • I lost 18 lbs since September
  • My rental house is still the bomb

Now for the bad:

  • Owed $11,000 from unloading the stupid house during our worst housing market in US history
  • Lost at least 30% in my retirement accounts

My AMEX balance is now $10,098 and in a couple of days it will be $9098.  I have to rebuild my pitiful emergency fund of $31.24.  I will throw $500 in it on the 1st and 15th.  My bills are only $561 with $416 of it being my Roth IRA.  Speaking of which, it has $31,143 in a short-term bond.  I also have $32,179 in my TSP (C,S and I funds) and $1,100 in savings bonds.

2009 Goals

  • Pay off the soon to be AMEX balance of $9098 by April
  • Rebuild emergency fund to at least $10K by end of the year
  • Continue to max out Roth
  • Restart TSP, although I am disillusioned by the markets
  • Pay extra on rental house
  • Lose 10-15 lbs

Cheers,

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

