GI Jane Finances

February 28, 2009

Broke people

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 8:29 pm

*raises right hand*  This will be the last credit card balance transfer ever.  I got my new Discover card in the mail as a result from transferring the remaining $7432 AMEX bill.  I had tried to cancel one of my AMEX cards with a piddly $2k credit line the day I applied to Discover.  The rep said that he would instead submit me for a credit line increase.  I received a notification from AMEX today that is had been denied due to the high balance on my credit line and income.  It surprised me a little bit because I only have $7432 (still hate it) on a different AMEX $35,000-$40,000 credit line.  Maybe since I didn’t update my stated income from 2003?  Whatever.  I plan on finishing my torrid love affair with credit after paying this off.  I am in love with the new Discover card–it has my initials and it’s a pretty blue.  I didn’t realize how credit card design influences you.  I couldn’t cut up my pretty Banana Republic card because it was so nice looking.  Sad, isn’t it?

So, today I made serious headway in paying of the Kyoto trip for three (Brother, Mother and me).  I only have about $110 left to pay.  I paid $2,000 as of today.  The yen rate is 95 yen to a dollar–thank heavens.  I only can withdraw $300 a day and $500 on weekends.  In the next couple of weeks, I will get a passport photo and apply for my China visa.  That will cost about $240.

My mother told me some great news today.  She will send me about $1600 for the trip.  She thought by making the decision to send money would cause me to recoil in shame.  Nope, not at all.  When that did not work she then slyly mentioned that my sister makes more money and worked shorter than I have.  I was like like, “Are you on crack?”  I make more money in two weeks then she makes the whole month.  Plus, I do not pay for any rent/utilities and $90,000 in student loans.   In Nov 08, I wiped out $10k from my savings to pay for closing costs and had to put another $10k on AMEX because it sold under the mortgage.  So, knowing that history and expect me to happily pay for an all Asia 2 person expense trip, she has got to be crazy.  The scary thing was she made this comment after I said I will pay for her ticket to Japan and go in half on my brother.  I also pay $100 in auto insurance so she can drive my car in the states.  When I visit my parents I have to rent a car because they will not let me drive their cars.  Dave Ramsey is right about broke people making fun of you.  But broke, selfish and ungrateful people? Yep.    

Back to the budget:

$208 Roth IRA

$300 cash for yen exchange

$17.55 Banana Republic

$18.16 AMEX

Leaves $2497.13 balance:

$1000 emergency fund

Grand total: $1497.13.

I anticipate $1634 from my mother. In mid-Mar, I plan on making at least approx $2300 payment to Discover.  Therefore, the $7432 bill (w/o the 3% balance transfer fee) will be whittle down at least $4,000.  Woo hoo!

Can’t wait to declare when I am debt free (apart from my rental mortgage).

GI Jane

2 Comments »

  1. Hi thanks for a great post. I’ll be back 🙂

    Comment by Tom — March 6, 2009 @ 6:11 am

  2. Thanks!

    Comment by gijanefinances — March 28, 2009 @ 7:58 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

