GI Jane Finances

April 14, 2009

Good times

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 9:21 am

Still enjoying debt free status.  I hosted a Sayonara party/bar crawl last Friday for my favorite co-worker.  It was awesome.  I rented a bus for 11.5 hours at $35 an hour.  I had people pay $15 per person to offset the costs.  It was pretty reasonable because if you travel by train to Tokyo and by cab to the three bars we visited the cost would be at least double.  We live about 1.5 hours away from downtown Tokyo and people could drink without needing to find a room or waiting/riding trains.  The trains actually stop running around midnight and not begin again until 0500 hrs.  We arrived home at 0515 hrs.  I still had to pay out-of -pocket about $100.  The good news is that I received a 10% discount because I am a club member. 

Boy, I spent a lot of money on my co-worker who is retiring this week:

$150 for the party bus/meal for his wife

$200 for a Cole Han briefcase

$20 for a Fox news t-shirt (gag gift)

$10 for luncheon

$30 Sayonara doll

They are good people.   I spent every holiday with them while in Japan.  They also experienced an expensive court case involving his stepson that did not end favorably.  A year before, his wife had to endure a cancer scare/treatments.  So, I am glad to have been able to give back–especially without going into debt.  Once of the guests at the party insinuated that I must have a lot of bills to carry on such a lavish lifestyle.  I said, “nope, I do not have bills.  I  do not pay any rent, no car payments or student loans.  All I have are internet and auto insurance,” with a big smile on my face.

FREEDOM!

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

