GI Jane Finances

May 15, 2009

Just got paid, it’s Friday night!

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 7:53 am

I have $6100 in savings after subtracting my spending money.  I was figuring out when to start contributing to TSP again.  Reading other financial blogs have inspired me to get with the program again.  I would like to develop more of an emergency savings, though.  Plus, with my move in July…that will come with some costs.  I will have to sell my car for $1k (which is a good deal).  Need to figure out what I have to do to make that happen paperwork wise.  The move should not be too costly.  Not sure if I want to stay in the dorm or move off base.  I am leaning towards staying on base for convenience sake.  It is so nice to not have utilities and paying out-of-pocket for housing.

Speaking of which, according to Zillow and looking at comparable houses near my rental, it looks like the property appreciated $55,000.  I would like to double payments to the mortgage so it can be eliminated by I retire in 2017.  I would be in a very sweet position to pocket the rent.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

