GI Jane Finances

July 31, 2009

Finally settled in

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 7:10 pm

Boy, what an adventure the past couple of weeks.  I am in my wonderful apartment finally and spent lots of money setting up.  The good news is that after buying a used car, electronics, household essentials and first/last month’s rent, I still have about $10,000 currently $7k–but expecting $3k in dislocation allowance). Since I live off-base, I opened a local bank account to pay rent and utilities in Korean won.

I also restarted my Thrift Savings contributions at 19%.  It had been suspended for 10 months.  The account also lost 26% of its value.  Nevertheless, I will contribute $1277 a month.

I then set-up monthly automatic withdrawals to:

House downpayment fund: $800

Car fund: $300

Vacation: $200

Already have $416 monthly withdrawn out for my Roth IRA.  Not sure when I will pay double on my rental mortgage…possibly at the beginning of 2010.  I think I want to have $15-20k in my emergency fund, before paying double.  We will see.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

