GI Jane Finances

February 15, 2010

Homeowners Assistance Program

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 10:17 am

Just when I thought I could be finally eligible for a government program.  Go through all the paperwork…calling realtors, utility companies, gathering receipts.  Denied!!!!  I was about $2000 short from being able to receive $20,000 that I lost in selling my house in 2008.  It totally sucked.  Never a person to wait or not take matters in my own hands and remedy a situation.  On the flip side, I did receive about $16,000 in tax refunds by having the housing deduction.  Without it, I will only get about $661 back on my 2009 return.  I am grateful that I didn’t shortsale or get foreclosed on.   The goal, I suppose, is to not give a “loan” to the government anyway. 

I am hoping that since this will be the first year in maxing the TSP of $16,500, it should land more money in my pocket come tax time.   Still on track with other savings.

Oh and Happy Valentine’s Day and Lunar New Year!

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

