GI Jane Finances

December 19, 2010

The Incredibles

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 9:03 am

Things have been crazy here the last week!   I finished my Christmas shopping already.  My mother said that the card I sent for my brother arrived there opened.  Thankfully, his check for and Subway/Starbucks gift cards were still in there!

I turn the big 3-9 in nine days.  Do not know what I want to do for that.  I have a feeling this year will be “my dreams come true year.” As I look back over the year, 38 very much sucked!  My assignment over here has been very eventful professionally–it will end this summer.  The 2-year assignment before here was very eventful personally and financially. I was going through the upheavals in the markets and trying to sell my house from 07-08.  Sold it Nov 2008.  It sucked out a great deal of dollars.  My romantic life went through some stupid drama of it own and pretty much imploded when I moved to Korea.  I think professionally I have accomplished more than the one in a half years here that would have taken me in three or four years.

I found my missing decoration (it took months and a great deal of luck), the personnel center finally did an administrative correction so my current report can make it into the system.  I now have to track down my initial training report, which should be easy.  My favorite line from the movie Incredibles, “Luck favors the prepared.”

The good things from this year:

1. I became a black belt in Tae Kwon Do (still need a lot more training).

2. I became a godmother.

3.  I went to Mt Sorak, Seoul and Chicago.

4.  I saw the musical Billy Elliot.

5.  Saved a lot of money!

I have definitely grown over these years in Asia.  There have been many highs and lows.  I hope I paid my karmic dues already.  I have always aimed to sow good seeds, regardless of the circumstances, and remain true to my inner core values.  It was torture selling my house, but I knew I would.  I hated losing money every single month and paid a huge sum to get rid of it.  But when I did, I felt a great deal of freedom, peace and success.  I found the realtor from junk mail while living overseas–never met the guy and he got it done finally.  A godsend!  I find the same parallel will happen in my personal life.  I been through torture, paid a huge price and a higher being will send the right guy!

So, here’s to 2011!  I can’t wait and see what will unfold.  Is it a time of reaping good things?  A time of harvest?  It better be, I am ready.

GI Jane

2 Comments »

  1. You have done awesomely. I mean.. I’m totally impressed by every post you do. Black belt, Asia, the army.. these are all very foreign, new things to me 🙂

    What an awesome year you had 😀

    Comment by FB @ FabulouslyBroke.com — December 19, 2010 @ 9:36 am

  2. Thank you! I have a lot to be grateful for…always looking forward to what is around the corner.

    Comment by gijanefinances — December 19, 2010 @ 9:51 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

