GI Jane Finances

January 21, 2011

Onward and Upward

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 9:20 am

It’s award season!  The one package I submitted on my Korean National employee won at the staff  and it is moving to the next level.  As stoked as I am, he needs to go on leave during the awards banquet.  We do not know if he will win yet, but if he does, the banquet is a really big deal.  Of course, that provoked one of my pet peeves about leave requests.  I had asked the guys in my office about projecting their leave every single month.  They would constantly ask one or two days before and I hate that!  So, now there is a great potential that he will be honored and now his family is awaiting his visit to them in the states.  And I am painfully shy (many people do not believe this about me), so I would have to accept his accolades in his stead if he even reaches the next level.  On top of  me writing the damn thing, he will not even be there to revel in his awesomeness.

He was like, “you are rich, you can travel whenever you want.  I may  not be able to travel to the states for another 10 years.”

Me: “It took 10 years for you to save for this trip?”

Him: “No.”

Me: “Well if you did not go to Malaysia and Thailand, you can save for a trip to the states.  This annual award may not come around again.  When you designed this trip, why did you not take advantage of Dec to early Jan?  You are already taking the last week of Jan off, then three weeks in Feb.  That is practically a sabbatical!  Three weeks in Feb, if I had been told about this in Nov-Dec, would have been very hard for me to endorse.  Without your job, you would not have money to travel.  I do not know of too many jobs (apart from teaching) where 4 weeks off all at once would fly.”

Needless to say, I am very annoyed.  Anyway, my brother was promoted and received a $4,000 bonus on top of his $300 a month raise.  I am so happy for him.  He also is planning on contributing 15% to his 401K with a 100% match.  He only has about $5,000 in debt.  So, he will put $1200 in his 401K, keep $600 for himself and the rest on his debt.

Love it when good things happen for people in my life.

GI Jane

2 Comments »

  1. If I were him I’d go. I can’t imagine NOT going…. and you’re right with the savings.

    Comment by FB @ FabulouslyBroke.com — January 23, 2011 @ 9:25 am

  2. Unbelieveable!

    Comment by gijanefinances — January 23, 2011 @ 2:04 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

