GI Jane Finances

April 7, 2011

Shock and Awe

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 2:12 pm

A government shut-down seems imminent.  I can’t imagine not receiving a paycheck next week…hopefully Congress will get it together.  Especially after paying $934 in taxes, never owed that much in my life.  Just paid for my Italy trip.  So glad I have an emergency fund.  I would be up the creek if I did not.  Can’t imagine how people lower in rank who live off-base would cope if it drags on?  The last time this happened was in 1996 for three weeks.  Thankfully, they got back-pay, but the media said back-pay is not a guarantee.  Not in this recession!

I have been looking at houses in San Antonio online.  My housing allowance is $1,335, but I will experience a $1,200 monthly pay cut.  The government also pays for my utilities while living overseas.  Since I won’t have my utilities paid for in the states, I need to artificially create a utility allowance within my housing allowance.  Therefore, I need to pay no more than $1,000 for rent.

You have to drive everywhere in SA.  Gas prices in Chicago is about $4.00.  Jimminy Crickets.   I still looking forward to moving home.  I wish I can have the same salary as I do now.  I will experience a big lifestyle change with the move.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

