GI Jane Finances

May 6, 2011

Countdown to the move to San Antonio

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 12:33 pm

I am completely in love with the tv FX series called Justified.  I have been looking to fill the void left by Mad Men as it went into hiatus.  I usually shun cop dramas.  I haven’t watched one since Miami Vice!  I totally have a crush on the Raylan Givens, the lead protagonist played by Timothy Olyphant.  The writing and directing are amazing.  I actually did a search to see if Olyphant or Justified won any awards.  They finally snagged a Peabody this year, but really and shamefully have been overlooked by the Emmys.  According to Cleveland.com:  “Although Olyphant’s wonderfully laconic Raylan can hold his head up high in this select company, “Justified” hasn’t received nearly the amount of notoriety it deserves.”  I can’t wait to catch up on all of the seasons over the weekend.  It is a great show to get ready for my move to Texas even though it is set in Kentucky.

I am moving on up in the world.  Vanguard just sent me a welcome brochure because now I am a Voyager Services member due to having $50,000-$500,000 in mutual funds.  Yeah!  Benefits:

Exemption from mutual fund/brokerage fees

  • Commission-free Vanguard ETF trades
  • Stock and non-Vanguard ETF trades for $7
  • Customized financial plan worth $1,000 for $250 (may just do that)

When I get $500,000 to $1 million in mutual fund assets, I qualify for Voyager Select Services:

  • Greater reduction on brokerage fees and commissions discounted to just $2 for each stock or non-Vanguard ETF trade
  • Free consultations with a certified financial planner whenever the need arises

My goal this weekend is to clean out my car and take pictures of it for the “for sale” sign.  I also need to purge and organize my files in preparation for the move.  I am thinking about signing up for a zip line trip on 15 May that sounds exciting.  That is it for now.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

