GI Jane Finances

May 31, 2011

Memorable adventures

Filed under: Uncategorized — gijanefinances @ 4:27 pm

It has been a flurry of activities these past two weeks. I went ziplining.  My friend had a baby shower on 21 May which was pretty fun.  I spent $60 on baby clothes.  The mother-to-be was grateful that I bought 0-3 months clothes.  I discovered after the last year baby gifts, the mother did not appreciate that I bought 1-2 year old clothes.  The prevailing wisdom is that infant clothing won’t be useful after a couple of months.  But hey, why should the baby not be dressed from 0-3 months? It was a good time.   And I really loved my friend’s house…great view, landscaping and design.

I just recovered from a long weekend in Seoul.  I finally broke down and went to a fraternity party/cruise.  Unfortunately, the Dragon Hill was booked since I waited till the very end to decide on the trip.  I decided to stay at the Grand Hyatt in Seoul.  It was only a $3 cab ride; but the room was about $210 a night!  After checking in early, I thought it would be good to arrive to the rendezvous on a full stomach.  I had the champagne brunch…which was very delicious.  Now I am in a good mood, only to go to the pier and wait 1.5 hours until the cruise.  My friends who were going to meet there had better intel and showed up 10 minutes before the start.  I am kinda of pissed at this point…regretting signing up for the trip.  Nevertheless, I soldier on a find out that they managed to get a table.  The Han River cruise went from 5-9 p.m.  We ended up having such a good time that we did not want to leave the boat at 9 p.m.  The DJ was fantastic.  I had no idea there were so many group/line dances out there.  I only knew the cha cha, electric slide and the shuffle dance.  I managed to get the courage and learn one only for the boat party to be near over.  So, we made it back to the post at 9:30 p.m.  The after party was at 10-3 a.m.  I ended up falling asleep in my room until mid-night, got ready and made it there at 12:30 a.m.  The party was a dud.  Should have stayed in my room.

The next day, I met with a Korean contractor, who has been wanting to show me Seoul for the past couple of weeks.  He was so generous with his time and money.  We went to three famous markets, Bukak skyway and finished with the Seoul tower.  We had an awesome Italian dinner course at the tower (Namsam).  I felt bad he was paying for everything, but he refused to let me help.  I made it home at 10 p.m.

Today, I think I found a buyer for my car.  I initially wanted $1200 for the 96 Kia Credos.  He offered $900.  Hmmm.  He said he will let me know in a couple of days for certain.  I am 90% sure he wants it, especially at $300 cheaper than asking.  Since I am losing $300, I will see if he will wait until 3 or 4 weeks for me to turn it over to him.  I hate the idea of losing $300 and walking/taxiing for a month!

Back to the grind tomorrow…le sigh.

GI Jane

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

